Discord is Making Your Messages Public

??
DAYS UNTIL PUBLIC

On 16 Nov 2026, messages on Discord will be made public to the internet. This includes all messages you've sent on a discoverable server before that date.

This action is irreversible if you do not opt-out before the deadline.

What is Discord doing?

On 27 Oct 2026, Discord announced that, starting 16 Nov, messages on a discoverable server will be up for grabs on the internet. These messages can be used in AI training, appear in search results, and be downloaded by anyone with an internet connection.

Note: A discoverable server is a server on the Discord server discovery page.

Who does this affect?

You! If you are in a discoverable server

Your messages are literally getting published on the internet! Every message will be visible even after it is deleted.

You! If you are in any server at all

Will the server admin make the server discoverable in the future? Your past messages will be retroactively made public if it happens.

You! If you are a server admin

You are in control of whether chat messages in your Discord server will be published. You have the power to opt-out for everyone on the server.

What happens when you opt-out?

If you opt-out in your user settings, the chat will still be published with your messages missing. What you said can still be inferred from other users' messages.

If you are a server admin, you can opt-out in server settings so all messages sent in your server will not be published.

How do I opt-out?

For everyday users

  1. Go to User Settings > Data & Privacy
  2. Disable Show my message content from Discoverable channels on web pages.

For server admins

The easiest way is to de-list your server from server discovery in Server Settings > Access, so any future changes will not affect your server.

If you do not wish to de-list your server, disable publishing messages in Settings > Community > Web Presence.

It is ridiculous for a chat app to publish user messages to the internet. This violates privacy laws in the EU, UK, Canada, Australia, Brazil and South Korea, so the option will be OFF by default in these countries.

However, I am from the UK and the option was ON for me. This may be to do with where Discord thinks my account was created — so even if you are from the listed countries, you should still check your settings.

Why is this happening?

This is the "I have theories but I can't prove it" section.

Is there anything more I could do besides opting-out?

First of all, you can share this page with everyone you know, especially server admins, as they can opt-out for the entire server.

You can also opt-out of any future bullshit by convincing your friend group to move to a privacy-respecting chat app:

In no particular order:

Note: all Matrix-based apps can chat with each other.